Fruity Fried Rice

This week I seem to be on a kick of non traditional breakfast foods.  This is nothing new, however on most days I resolve this issue by drinking a smoothie to start my day.  Yesterday I cooked some plain white rice for little Rocki, who by the way is doing much better.  Today I had a bowl of leftover rice since I seem incapable of making less than 2 cups of rice at a time.

This morning I made myself a gluten-free vegan fruity fried rice and it was quite good.  I combined the sweetness of dried fruit, pineapple, nuts,  with the savory tastes of shallots and spices.  The result is a versatile dish that I can eat for breakfast or use as a side dish paired with grilled veggies or tofu.  My recipe is a bit haphazard.  Everything is an approximation because I used my typical chop, or shake it and throw it into the pan method of cooking.  Measuring is not a skill I possess.

One ingredient I used needs to be mentioned.  When camping in the Smoky’s I brought home Walden Creek Peach and Pumpkin Butter.  Both are absolutely delicious.  I wish I had bought 2 of the pumpkin because I gave that one to my daughter Ariel.  We tasted it out of the jar and decided that served on a dark rich bread with sliced banana would make a fabulous sandwich.  I only found one place online that sells these butter’s, please check it out.http://www.moonshine-ridge.com/WaldensCreekJelly.php

Mentioning Walden Creek Butter’s I do have to introduce Walden who I purchased with the butters.  I bought him in a town called Wears Valley Tn.  The sculptor had just finished creating him while we were browsing his artwork.  Walden hadn’t even been stained at that time.  They promised me that he would be completed the next day so we took a trip back and made his purchase our big indulgence of that trip.  He road home on towels to not stain my car and safely seatbelted in. One of these days I will get a nice picture of him outside but I need to borrow or purchase a better camera first.  He is not named for food, his name comes from Walden Creek which we drove over 3 times while trying to name him.

Fruity Fried Rice

2 cups cooked rice (preferably day old)

8-10 dried dates chopped fine

1/4- 1/3 cup canned drained or fresh pineapple chopped

1 shallot chopped

1/2 cup chopped walnuts

A handful of dried cranberries

A few shakes of gluten-free tamari (or soy sauce)

2-3 teaspoons of peach butter or jam

Cinnamon, allspice, tumeric, cardamom,  use what you have to your personal taste

2-3 teaspoons of canola oil

Directions

Saute the shallot and nuts in a little oil for a few minutes until the shallots start to become translucent, add in the cranberries and dates saute for another minute then add the rice

Stir the mixture and add pineapple, tamari and seasoning, last add the peach butter (jam) saute for a few more minutes stirring regularly and serve

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment