Fresh Tomato Sauce

We arrived home from vacation after a ridiculously long drive.  It’s good to be home but there is quite a bit of post vacation work to be done.  A day of relaxation was not to be had, at least today anyway.  There was the usual laundry, cleaning, grocery shopping as well as helping my son finish his preparations for his trip to Europe.  He’s leaving Monday and I was really happy to help him complete his shopping and just enjoyed time spent with him.  We had lunch at Acropolis, a favorite of ours.  I had a grape salad that I believe is my new favorite salad.  It has spinach leaves, grapes (of course!) gorgonzola, walnuts and other veggies with a delicious home made dressing.  After a week of eating poorly I really enjoyed it.

With such a busy day, dinner needed to be quick and easy.  My husband suggested an old standby Fresh Tomato Sauce which is a chopped fresh tomato sauce served raw.  My husband likes this topped with some grilled or boiled shrimp and I like it plain or possibly with some grilled corn or chick peas mixed in.  I make it a couple of hours prior to eating and let it just sit on the counter until dinner.  The flavors get a chance to meld together which is all it needs.  There have been times when I’ve added it to a saute pan for just a few minutes to slightly warm it on a cool evening.  The recipe itself has no exact measurements and is based upon an average appetite.  Feel free to add or subtract any ingredient to your personal liking.

Ingredients

3 average sized roma tomato’s per person chopped

Chopped vidalia or red onion

Garlic- less if raw, more if roasted, either way to your taste

Fresh herbs such as thyme and basil just a little rosemary

Salt and pepper

Olive oil- enough to come to the top of the chopped tomato’s in a bowl but not to drown them

A little red or white wine vinegar, again to taste

Any choice of pasta, I prefer think spaghetti with this

Bread crumbs or parmesan cheese to top if desired

possible add ins: roasted corn, walnuts, pine nuts, chickpeas, white beans

Directions

Chop tomato’s place in bowl, finely chop onion and garlic add to tomato.  Chop fresh herbs and add to bowl with seasoning and liquid ingredients.  Stir well and sit on counter for a couple of hours stirring occasionally.  Cook pasta according to directions, drain and serve topped with sauce

  1. We appreciate you your recipe tips. Very helped me in completing the hobby of cooking.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment