Homemade Bisquick Recipe

For those of you who don’t know Bisquick is an all-purpose baking mix.  You can make all kinds of biscuits, pancakes and simple bread recipes by using this.  However, it’s pretty expensive for a simple baking mix.  Besides the expense, I realized at the last-minute that I did not have any in the house.

My original plan was to make Baked Quesadilla which is a favorite of my niece.  However, she will not be home for dinner so I decided to hold off on those for a day or so.  My next thought was to make Spinach Pie.  Bisquick is one of the main ingredients in this and I was out of it.  After a quick search I discovered that it’s quite simple to make.

I noticed a few different recipes, some had a little sugar some used shortening while others used butter.  The recipe claims that it can be stored airtight, in the fridge for up to 4 months.  Frankly, I don’t like the sound of that so I made 1/4 of the recipe which was exactly the amount I needed for the Spinach Pie.  Also, I used butter and whole wheat white flour for my recipe.  Nobody seemed to notice the healthier flour.

Ingredients

  • 6 cups all-purpose flour (or white whole wheat)
  • 3 tablespoons baking soda
  • 1 tablespoon salt
  • 1 cup shortening or butter (butter cut into small cubes)

Directions

Sift the dry ingredients into a bowl

Cut in the shortening or butter until the mixture is a fine crumble

If desired store in an airtight container in the refrigerator up to 4 months

 

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

