Fruity Vegan Corn Muffins

I have not cooked anything new for some time now.  I find the one difficulty with having a food blog is that I’m so busy trying out new recipes that I don’t have time to cook some old favorites.  I guess it’s all about balance.

This morning I got up ridiculously early so I decided to bake some muffins.  I can’t even remember the last time I did that.  My plan was to try a vegan cornbread using applesauce in place of the egg.  To my surprise my applesauce is all gone.  Of course I discovered this after assembling 3/4 of the ingredients!  I did a quick look around and was happy to see an aging banana on the counter.  Next to the banana were some organic apples that aren’t as pretty as waxed chemical filled apples so they’re not being eaten.  For the record I’m eating them but no one else is.

The end result is a sweet healthy muffin made from good simple ingredients.  I ended up with 9 muffins using a cupcake pan and they’re an appropriate sized muffin.  I have no clue as to the calorie count but they are way better for you than the mega sized fat and sugar filled muffins that you can buy pretty much anywhere these days.  I used to love store-bought but I just can’t eat them anymore.

Ingredients

  • 3/4 cup cornmeal
  • 3/4 cup whole wheat white flour (or ww pastry flour)
  • 1/2 teaspoon  each baking soda & baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 over ripe banana
  • 1 small apple grated
  • 3/4 cup soy or rice milk
  • 1/4 cup agave nectar
  • 3 tablespoons canola oil

Directions

Preheat oven to 325 degrees F Lightly grease cupcake pan

Combine the cornmeal, flour, baking soda, and salt in a large bowl; add in the soy milk, banana, oil and agave nectar.  Mix using a potato masher to break up the banana

Peel the apple and add into the bowl giving a gentle stir

Distribute the mixture into the pan

Bake in the preheated oven until lightly browned approximately 20 minutes

  1. Yum!This looks so delicious.I saw your blog from the foodie blog roll and I like what you have here.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

