5 Questions

I recently saw this on an RV blog I read and found the questions and answers very interesting.  I was thinking about the questions people usually ask me about being a vegetarian as well as my own personal thoughts on the subject.  I’d love to see what you thoughts are on the subject.

1. What’s the most annoying question people ask you? “You can eat fish right?”

2. Do you miss any specific meat? At this point I don’t miss meat at all but I absolutely missed a good barbecue early on.

3. What do you order when you end up in a restaurant with no veg options? This happened to me the other day.  I had a salad and 3 sides.

4. Why or why not vegan? I have 2 reasons.  First I love cheese and it’s hard to give up.  Second, my husband is not a veg and it’s difficult enough working around our different diets.

5.  Do you ever knowingly cheat? I haven’t in over a year but I used to occasionally order vegetable pad thai which has fish sauce.  My rationalization was that it was just a minor ingredient, I wasn’t eating the entire fish or anything!

6. For the non-vegetarians: If you’re reading this you’re obviously interested in a vegetarian diet.  What stops you from going veg?  (no judgement here!)

Peace, love & greens, Lin

    • Jeff
    • September 16th, 2010

    1. What’s the most annoying question people ask you?
    All you eat is salad?

    2. Do you miss any specific meat?
    Yes, fish.

    3. What do you order when you end up in a restaurant with no veg options?
    My wife & I normally frequent places with a vegetarian selection. If I travel I search online for vegetarian or vegan restaurants. I abhor ordering “side dishes”. Cooking veggie fajitas or a meatless dish is NOT that difficult!

    4. Why or why not vegan?
    I eat cheese and egg based products. I don’t judge what people eat “to each their own”, a mostly vegetarian diet worked well for me shedding 125lbs of unwanted weight.

    5. Do you ever knowingly cheat?
    Yes, I’ll have a small amount of fish occasionally (again, no judging).

    • Ariel
    • September 16th, 2010

    1. What’s the most annoying question people ask you?
    Wait, you’re not a vegetarian? (I’m not. But people tend to assume I am because my partner and I will go for days without consuming meat, and idk, because I have short girl hair? People are odd.)

    2. Do you miss any specific meat?
    Not a vegetarian.

    3. What do you order when you end up in a restaurant with no veg options?
    Eat something else because I’m not a vegetarian. I do always notice when there aren’t vegetarian options though, because I don’t think of meat as an every meal, every day sort of thing.

    4. Why or why not vegan?
    I love food and eating too much to limit myself and my options. Some of my meals are vegan, but it’s not a choice I’m willing to make right now.

    5. Do you ever knowingly cheat?
    I don’t follow any dietary guidelines (other than to try to avoid foods that I don’t like) to really cheat on.

    • Connor Sugg
    • September 16th, 2010

    1. What’s the most annoying question people ask you? But eating meat’s healthy for you, isn’t it?

    2. Do you miss any specific meat? I miss no meat products and haven’t since I made the decision to become Vegetarian.

    3. What do you order when you end up in a restaurant with no veg options? I don’t eat at restaurants, though (hypothetically) if this did happen, I’d probably no eat anything or see if I could work something out with the waiter/waitress.

    4. Why or why not vegan? I would love to become Vegan, however, I currently live at home (I’m 16) and understand that, financially, it would be impractical for my mother to serve 2 Vegan meals and 4 meals for my siblings (who aren’t Vegetarian). *Side note; I’m planning on becoming Vegan once I get my own place*

    5. Do you ever knowingly cheat? Never, even the thought of eating flesh-food makes me feel queasy!

    6. For the non-vegetarians: If you’re reading this you’re obviously interested in a vegetarian diet. What stops you from going veg? (no judgement here!) N/A

    • Evz
    • September 17th, 2010

    1) “But where do you get your protein?!” has to be the MOST annoying question in the universe!!!… geez, do a 1-minute research quest on google, guys! for pete’s sake… especially when the meat-eater in question is obese, diabetic, has heart disease, etc, it’s hard not to roll my eyes at this question… protein is NOT the hot issue here, ok? protein is freakin’ EVERYWHERE in a balanced vegan diet; also, eating too much of it (SAD style!) is actually BAD for you… ask me something original and/or relevant, please and thank you! (eyeroll!… sorry… soapbox stashed now)

    2) Nope– i used to miss seafood when i first quit, but the last time i went to a seafood restaurant with my fam, had a grilled veg hoagie & it was SO good… THAT’s what i was hungry for; not the other stuff.

    3) i rarely encounter a place with NOTHING for me; avoid places i know to be un-veg friendly (bbq restaurants, tgi friday’s, olive garden, cracker barrel… blech!) Often make up veg-yum dishes from random menu ingredients… & then i tip FAT for the trouble!

    4)i eat vegan, except on rare occasions when i have friends who have pet chickens, and offer me their extra eggs (maybe 1-2x per year)… unlike dairy, in cases where the hen is primarily a family pet, i don’t see eggs as a harm-causing food. But to me, the dairy & egg *industries* look every bit as ugly as the veal & chicken-meat industries (there’s actually no real separation between the two, it seems to me)… so why would i support one and not the other?!! also, after a lot of reading, i’m not sure breast milk from any creature is good food for me (an adult)… that just seems pretty messed up, once i started looking at it through an objective vs habit-driven perspective… it makes me happy now to avoid it, for both ethics & health reasons, and my only regret is that i didn’t get off the stuff sooner!

    5)Flesh: f*** no! are you kidding me?! nasty!!!

    Sometimes if i’m traveling or out socially and i’m not in a position to read the labels on the bread for my sandwich at a restaurant, or hash browns or something, AND there’s nothing i could order that i AM sure is 100% plant-based… i’ll have the sandwich/ hash-browns and hope it’s clean (ie no milk/eggs/ animal-derived additives like lactylate/diglycerides/etc). BUT, if i can read the label/ if i know there’s animal junk in it, i eat something else… that’s the closest i come to ‘cheating,’ and i try to avoid situations where my options are so limited that i need to do it. When i can do my own shopping & food prep: neverever!

    6. (yeah– try it!!! it’s a very satisfying & rewarding way to eat!)

    🙂

  1. eat meet and be happy

    • Steve
    • January 14th, 2011

    Meat Lover :
    eat meet and be happy

    ur speaking the truth brother

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

