Tangy Vegan Salad Dressing

I’m turning over a new leaf. This one will be a green vegetable leaf.  I’m going to get myself back to super healthy eating and start working on weight loss.  My goal is to follow the basic premise of Michael Pollan’s Food Rules and just eat as healthily and naturally as possible.  Other than that I have no intention of following any diet gimmick.

I’m going to start this by attempting a variety of different salad dressings.  I’ve not liked store-bought dressings for a long time but have pretty much stuck to oil and vinegar.  I love a simply dressed salad and have a large variety of different vinegar but after a while that gets old.  Then I stop eating so much salad and next whatever weight I’ve lost starts to creep back on.

I’m starting today with this Tangy Vegan Dressing which is similar to a French dressing but not quite the same.  This one the main ingredients are organic ketchup and organic dijon mustard which provide the tangy taste.  This dressing will definitely work well with a basic salad topped with some sliced veg chick patties or crumbled burger.  It will also go well with just a simple salad.  This recipe is so simple it took about 5 minutes total and is both vegan and gluten-free.

Ingredients

1/2 cup ketchup (organic if possible)
1/4 cup dijon mustard (again organic if possible)
1/2 cup canola oil
1 large clove garlic
1/2 a small onion
1 teaspoon agave nectar (more if you prefer sweeter)
1 teaspoon dried basil and some fresh ground pepper

Directions

Toss all ingredients into a blender or food processor and blend until well mixed, chill and serve!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

