Tofu Korma

Early in the day: Summer in Florida is getting old quickly.  It’s hot humid and our rainy season.  Typically the term “rainy season” means a few brief rain storms often in the afternoon or evening with lots of thunder and lightning.  The last several days it’s been raining so much it’s incredible.  Yesterday around noon the darkest cloud came over my office and made midday look more like midnight!  It lasted over an hour with incredibly heavy rain.  It was incredible, I thought for sure a tornado or some crazy weather phenomenon was going to attack us.  Luckily just the rain  did.

With this weather in mind I’m in a bit of a cooking quandary.  It’s finally my day off and I want to cook but I don’t trust the weather enough to grill something and I don’t want to turn on the oven.  I”m trying to come up with a good summer dinner that is cooked using the stove top only.

Later on: So I’ve decided to try something totally new and create my own veg version of an Indian chicken korma, substituting tofu and butternut squash for the chicken.  Being the wonderful wife that I am, I will actually make a small pot with chicken for my husband.  Korma is a creamy curry sauce made with many rich, fragrant spices.  From my online research there seems to be many variations, some made with heavy cream, coconut milk, or yogurt.  I’ve also seen many different vegetables incorporated.

Today I’m going with butternut squash which works very well with cream sauce, peas and tofu.  I’m not a fan of seitan but if you are feel free to use that in place of tofu.  I noticed several recipes had a little tomato in them but I don’t think I’d like that with a creamy sauce.  I had about 1 cup of wild rice uncooked so I decided to use that instead of a plain white rice.

Even Later: First let me apologize for my lack of photo.  It seems the aging camera I’ve been using has decided to die on me.  While it took the pics they were grainy and unfocused.  It might be a couple of weeks until I can purchase a reasonably priced new one.

The end result was a really rich and tasty dinner.  Both my husband and son really enjoyed it.  At the last minute I decided to add a little sriracha.  The recipe had a nice warm flavor without it but we like a little more heat.  It’s totally optional.  I had all the spices prepared, prior to cooking so they all were ready to toss in at the right time.  This made it very easy.  Cooking the 2 pots of it at the same time was quite easy although I think my husband would have enjoyed the tofu version.  Either way this recipe is definitely a keeper.

Ingredients

  • 4 tablespoons vegetable oil
  • 1 12 oz block tofu
  • 1 butternut squash peeled, cubed and either roasted or microwaved
  • 1 cup frozen peas
  • 1 onion, chopped
  • 2 cloves garlic, chopped
  • 1/2 teaspoon grated ginger ( I freeze mine and it grates super easy!)
  • Salt to taste
  • 1 teaspoon turmeric, cumin, and coriander
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons garam masala, or to taste
  • 1/2 – 3/4 cup heavy cream
  • 1/2 cup yogurt
  • Sriracha (optional hot sauce) to taste, about 1 teaspoon
  • 1/2 cup chopped cashews for topping

Directions

Heat oil in a  pan and add onions and saute for 4 to 5 minutes on a medium heat until the onions are starting to brown

Then add the garlic and ginger and cook for 1 or 2 minutes. Add the spices except the garam masala mix well so the seasoning is well mixed.

Turn the heat up to medium high and cook for another 1 minute adding the tofu and squash

Stir well so that the tofu gets mixed well with all the seasoning, this is where it gets all the flavor.

Add water and turn down the heat slightly, then stir in the garam masala and cream , yogurt, and peas cooking for another 5 minutes. Serve sprinkled with cashews.  Enjoy!

Have a peaceful day, Lin

Vegetarilin on Facebook

    • Marci
    • August 27th, 2010

    Speaking of Tofu and my lack of experience with it..which type do you use for that delicious looking chocolate pie that I last commented on?
    How do you know which type to use for what recipe?
    I have some Indian friends that introduced me to some savory Indian dishes. I think they used “firm” in one dish with tomatoes and a creamy buttery flavored warm curry sauce.
    Do you have some other dips or dishes using tofu that I could start off slowly with?
    I am just afraid that if I make a dish and its not tasty, nobody in my household will want it again.

    Marci

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

