Chocolate Tofu Pie

If you remember the other day I had my family over for dinner but was determined not to turn on my stove.  This was made easy by making simple appetizers including Tirosalata and ordering pizza which was great.  I topped off the dinner with a no bake tofu chocolate pie that’s as rich and creamy as any typical chocolate pie.

When making it this time I added about 1/4 cup of regular granulated white sugar to sweeten the obvious tofu flavor.  I have made it before without the sugar and it’s fine but tends to have that “healthy” dessert taste.  Really I don’t think that little bit of sugar is going to change the caloric count by all that much per slice but feel free to omit or lessen the amount if you like.

Today I will be back to my favorite Indian Buffet with my brother and I’m really looking forward to spending time with him.  Also, I’ll be very happy to eat Indian food while off my gluten-free trial.  I can and will eat all the naan I want!  Yum!

Ingredients

1 12 oz block of soft tofu

1 12 oz back of chocolate chips

1 tablespoon butter

1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla extract

2 egg whites

1/4 cup white sugar

1 prepared chocolate cookie crust

1 chocolate bar to shave over top (optional  & I only had expensive chocolate so it’s a bit sparse!)

Directions

Melt the chocolate and butter until smooth and creamy

Place tofu in food processor and mix until creamy, add vanilla and pulse to blend

Add slightly cooled melted chocolate to the tofu and beat until smooth, then add sugar, let mixture sit

In a separate bowl using a mixer blend egg whites until stiff, soft peaks form

Add the chocolate tofu mixture to egg whites and fold gently until all ingredients are incorporated and the color is even

Place tofu in food processor and mix until smooth and creamy, add vanilla and pulse, add the chocolate mixuter

Scoop mixture into the prepared pie crust and top with chocolate shavings

Allow to set in the refrigerator for a few hours before serving

Have a peaceful day, Lin

    • Marci
    • August 27th, 2010

    This actually looked pretty good. I am sort of in a dilemma and would like to ask your readers for some ideas. I participate in fantasy football and this weekend we will be going over to our friends house for the draft. Now I know that they want us to bring fried chicken from a local restaurant, along with baked potato wedges and cole slaw, then they are ordering pizzas also. I want to bring something “healthy” but not your usual veggie tray with ranch dip. Any suggestions for something vegetarian, tasty, and appealing all in one?
    I know I could make vegetarian chili but its too early in the football season for that and plus I was thinking something that could be served with whole grain crackers, etc. Help!
    Marci

    • Marci, I’ll ask on my facebook page if anyone has any ideas. Are you on that? It’s just getting enough readers to start discussions and see some interesting info. I do have a few suggestions for a pot luck setting. One is a delicious but not so healthy Mac & Cheese if you’re looking to bring a main course. If you want to bring more of an appetizer my Taco Dip is always a huge hit. And last, this recipe for Apple Pie Dip with Cheddar is one that my friend gave me and the crowd at my mom’s birthday party devoured it last year.

      As for the tofu question, I tend to use extra firm when cooking a meal and I drain it very well. You do this by slicing it into about 4 sections and wrapping it in a towel. I place it in a large dish or bowl and then top it with a few heavy food cans to release the water. I let it sit in the fridge for a couple of hours like that and then it’s got a meatier texture and is better able to absorb the flavors. For a recipe like the chocolate pie I just a soft version and gently squeeze out the water but don’t want to remove all the water.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

