Tirosalata

Don’t you just love the names of Greek dishes?  I’m embarrassed by how poor my pronunciation is but Greek food is so good.  Tonight I’m having my family over for a relaxed dinner.  I’m making a few appetizers and dessert and simply ordering pizza for the main course.

Nothing I’m making requires turning on the stove.  It’s about 97 degrees outside and my new AC unit is struggling enough to keep the house comfortable.  I’m making a couple of dips, a cold pie and fruit for dessert and that’s that.

Tirosalata is a favorite of mine at Acropolis, our local Greek restaurant.  It’s a creamy feta dip that’s spread over fresh pita bread.  Other than roasting a few baby peppers it took about 5 minutes to put together in the food processor.  3 ingredients with questionable proportions, yet delicious.

Ingredients

1 cup feta cheese

1/4 cup olive oil

4-6 baby peppers roasted (or jarred roasted red peppers)

Pepper to taste

Directions

On the grill roast the peppers until the skin is blackened, cool and peel off the skin

Place the feta in the food processor and some of the oil and pulse, keep adding oil a little at a time until it’s a creamy texture, then add the roasted peppers and pulse a little longer, season with black pepper, cool and serve

Have a peaceful day, Lin

    • Ariel
    • August 21st, 2010

    where’d you get your recipe from? Not that it doesnt sound good, just wondering. We use Greek Yogurt as our base, and add garlic, feta, and what I assume is italian mix seasonings, squirting some olive oil on top when serving.

    • Honestly I was trying to find a recipe more similar to yours but kept getting ones like this. I thought the roasted red peppers with feta sounded pretty interesting. While I very much liked this one I also like the simpler flavors of your version. If you can get the proportions for yours I’d be interested.

  1. Nice work, Aaron. I managed to keep my Lexmark
    E210 printer (an ML-1210 clone) operating along, now in Windows 8.

  2. Wonderful beat ! I would like to apprentice while you amend your web site, how
    can i subscribe for a blog website? The account aided me a acceptable
    deal. I had been a little bit acquainted of this your
    broadcast offered bright clear idea

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

