Lara “Like” Bars Homemade

A few months ago my daughter got me hooked on Larabars.  They are a snack or energy bar made from simple, natural ingredients and come in many great flavors.  My favorites are apple and cherry pie and I love the chocolate ones as well.  While they don’t cost a fortune I think the typical $1.50 is a lot for what is essentially a few bites of food usually eaten on the run.

So of course I took a good look at the basic ingredients and decided to make my own.  They are really quite easy to make and I bought the dried fruit in bulk so they were pretty cost efficient. Dates are the main ingredient and the one that doesn’t change regardless of flavor.  Today I used dates with dried blueberries and lemon zest.   However,  I’m already seeing limitless possibilities for new varieties.  I made them in the food processor and honestly can’t imagine making them without one.

I enjoy making food that can all go into the food processor without cleaning and is completed in 1 bowl.  There is no cooking involved and it took just a few minutes although it is pretty sticky to work with.  Altogether this recipe made 8 bars which I’m sure will be consumed within a couple of days so I’m not even going to refrigerate them. Last, once again, a gluten-free vegan recipe!  Gotta love it!

Ingredients

1 cup pitted dates rough chopped but don’t buy chopped dates

1 cup dried blueberries (or other dried fruit such as cherries, apricots, cranberries)

1 cup nuts such as walnuts or pecans (I used walnuts)

Zest of 1/2 a lemon (optional depending on type of fruit used)

1/4 teaspoon cinnamon

Directions

Place dried fruit and lemon zest in food processor and pulse until fruit is in small chopped pieces, remove to bowl

Add nuts to the food processor (don’t wash bowl first) and pulse until finely chopped

Add nuts to fruit and mix well by hand, if you find there’s too many nuts to incorporate leave a little out

Turn mixture onto waxed paper and form into a log shape, then roll out until 1/4″ 1/2″ thick (I used a drinking glass for this)

Slice into approximately 8 even bars and wrap in plastic

Have a peaceful day, Lin

Vegetarilin on Facebook

    • Marci
    • August 21st, 2010

    I love to watch Food Network. My 2 faves are Giada and Ina Garten. Ina had a recipe once for “breakfast bars”. They were very similar to your recipe. I have been tempted to give a whirl. I will sometime within the next couple of days.
    Walmart has their own version of granola bars but they were HORRIBLE, too crunchy and way too sweet. So now I am really thinking about making my own. I am so glad that you posted your tried and true recipe. With maybe a variation or two, I am looking forward to trying it.

    You are the best, Lin!
    I am definitely a fan!
    ~Marci~

    • Marci, thanks for the compliments, you’re going to give me a big ego!! I love Food Network and Ina is my favorite too. I love that her show is taped on the east end of Long Island since I’m a LI girl. Alton Brown recently did a show called Power Trip with several different recipes for granola and power bars. It actually aired the night before I made these so my hubby thought I copied his recipe which I didn’t. But I would like to try his granola bars. As for Giada I love her because many of her recipes are easy to make veg but I find it hard to believe she’s so tiny and loves food so much. It just isn’t fair!! =)
      http://www.foodnetwork.com/good-eats/power-trip/index.html

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

