Natural Body Products

Lately I am on  a kick to go as chemical free as possible.  I would like for my body to be in as close to a natural state as possible.  This apparently is much easier said than done, especially when you have sensitive skin as I do.  I’m noticing increasing number of items in stores that are listed as natural but many of them still have ingredients that I cannot discern or pronounce.

One thing I’ve recently done is switch from regular deodorant that contains aluminum to a crystal stick which is made from 100% mineral salts.  Living in Florida I was very skeptical but I’ve discovered that using Crystal Deodorant with a little corn starch powder works as well or better than any commercial deodorant I’ve used.  As for aluminum, it is considered toxic and is linked to Alzheimer’s disease, respiratory and neurological problems.

My daughter is planning on making her own deodorant.  For those of you interested I’ve found these links to do so:

http://1greengeneration.elementsintime.com/?p=596

http://www.passionatehomemaking.com/2008/03/update-homemade-deoderant.html

As for your typical toothpaste, it is full of not so healthy ingredients.  Sodium Lauryl Sulphate is used to make those lovely soapy bubbles.  It is also used to clean oil spills.  It’s toxic to the liver and kidneys and is a known cause of skin problems.  Propylene Glycol is in many soaps, toothpastes and beauty products.  It’s also known as anti-freeze.  Aren’t we told to store anti-freeze in safe places away from small kids and animals?  I’ve switched to Tom’s Wicked Fresh! Toothpaste  which is chemical free and works great!

Soap has been the hardest thing for me.  I have very sensitive skin and seem to have issues with glycerin which is a main ingredient in many natural soaps.  For years I’ve only used white Dove and I really like the way it makes my skin feel.  Even plain simple Dove has ingredients such as Sodium Lauroyl Isethionate used to make the soap lather up. Aqua Lauric Acid and Stearic Acid which is a chemical humectant which helps the skin hold moisture.  Sodium Isethionate, sodium stearate and cocomidopropyl are all surfactants. Plus another nine chemicals for fragrance and another fifteen that have similar effects to those listed above.  Whew, all I want is clean dry skin!

Personally I’ve recently switched to Jason’s Organic Aloe Vera Satin shower and I love it.  It has a nice fresh natural scent and my sensitive skin feels great.  If you’re interested in purchasing home made soaps here’s a link to Etsy where there’s a huge variety made from do-it-yourselfers: http://www.etsy.com/search_results.php?search_query=vegetarian+soap&filter[0]=handmade&filter[1]=bath_and_beauty

If you’re interested in making your own soap.  Here’s some interesting sites: http://www.essortment.com/all/howtomakesoap_rasf.htm

http://www.pvsoap.com/recipes.htm

http://www.millersoap.com/soapallveg.html

I’m wishing you all a safe, clean, chemical free day!

Lin




  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

