Cool Cantaloupe Soup

Aren’t these demitasse cups adorable?  They were my grandmother’s and I just love them.  Being I’m not a coffee drinker I usually don’t have any use for them.  I’m also a bit afraid of damaging them so usually they’re just on display behind glass.  While making today’s cool soup I thought the cups would be a great way to serve a tiny taste of the soup.  In reality I prefer larger portions but this was fun.

I had about a half a leftover melon from a couple of days ago and plan on buying another when I go shopping in awhile.  A cool breakfast soup just sounded like a great way to start the day.  In reality I’m not sure what makes this a soup versus a smoothie, but call it what you want it tastes great.

This soup would make a lovely starter to a meal with several courses or would pair well with a simple salad or veggie sandwich for a meal itself.  As a breakfast it was fine by itself but I’m guessing I’ll be hungry again in a couple of hours.

Once again, I have another toss it together meal.  In this instance it’s more of a blend it all together experience.  I literally threw everything into the blender, grated the zest and ginger right into it, covered it and turned it on.  Nothing could be easier.  This is obviously gluten-free and is easily made vegan with a quick change of yogurt.

Ingredients

3 cups melon cubed in small pieces
1/4 cup plain or vegan yogurt (I used fat free)
A tiny bit fresh grated ginger (powdered if you don’t have)
Zest of one lime
Juice of 1/2 lime
1 tsp agave nectar  (honey if you don’t have)
2-3 lemon balm or mint leaves
2-3 basil leaves
2-3 Tbsp water if needed (use melon juice if possible)
Optional: a couple of small drops chipotle sauce
Directions
Toss all ingredients in a blender and blend until smooth!
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

