Low Fat Banana Pudding

I am quite disappointed with myself.  I almost made it to the 3 week mark of being gluten-free with no mishaps.  Yesterday I accidentally screwed it up.  I guess that’s better than all the times I knowingly sabotage my good intentions.  I bought my husband some Klondike 100 calorie ice cream sandwiches and I ate 1/2 of one.  At the time I was so proud of my restraint in only eating 1/2!  This morning I realized that I shouldn’t have been concerned over the 50 calories but the ingredients.  Oh well, live and learn.  I will not beat myself up over it.

I’m moving on to homemade desserts where I know exactly what the ingredients are.  I saw a recipe in a magazine for banana pudding and it brought back good memories.  During my childhood our neighbor Kay used to make the best banana pie!  It was such a treat.  I’m always a little reluctant to make a pudding from scratch because it seems to be all about timing and exact measurements.  I was wrong.  This recipe took a tiny bit of prep work but otherwise was quite simple.

After seeing this recipe in a magazine I decided to give it a try.  Their version has the usual vanilla wafers lining a pan and doing this in layers. My plan is to simply enjoy the pudding itself.  This recipe could easily go into a pie dish or be layered with cookies or whatever.  I used fat free milk with just a little fat free half and half but it will work fine with milk only.  Also I used brown rice flour instead of white flour to keep it gluten-free.

I had everything set up and ready to be mixed in at the right time and it worked perfectly. While the pudding was cooling on the counter I ran to the store for some bananas to put in it.  I had a couple but they’re starting to brown.  I think this requires really fresh bright yellow ones.  When I returned from the store I sliced the bananas and mixed them in the pudding and refrigerated.

A couple hours later I felt the pudding was sufficiently cooled and I dug in.  It’s rich, creamy, and delicious without being overly sweet.  I find as time goes by I dislike the fake flavors of prepackaged or instant type of foods.  Nothing beats the flavor of something that was made from simple fresh ingredients.

Ingredients

3-4 bananas sliced thin

3/4 cup white sugar

1/4 cup white flour (I used brown rice flour)

3 tablespoons cornstarch

3 1/2 cups of milk (I used 3 cups fat free 1/2 cup fat free 1/2 & 1/2

2 egg yolks beaten

2 tablespoons butter at room temperature

1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

Directions place flour, sugar and cornstarch in a bowl and whisk to remove all lumps

Pour milk into a saucepan cook on medium high until light bubbles form around the edges, add a ladle full of hot milk into the egg yolks and mix well so the eggs blend but don’t become cooked, add another ladle full and mix again, then add mixture to hot milk,

Gradually add in dry ingredients, stirring constantly, continue until mixture is getting thick and can leave a thick coating on a spoon dipped in.

Remove from heat and stir in vanilla and butter, let cool at room temperature for about 15 minutes, place in the refrigerator, after about 30 minutes add in sliced banana, allow to chill for several hours

Have a peaceful day, Lin

  1. May I just say what a comfort to find someone that genuinely knows
    what they are discussing on the web. You definitely know how
    to bring a problem to light and make it important.

    More people have to check this out and understand this side of your story.
    I was surprised that you aren’t more popular since you definitely possess the gift.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

