Project Linus

Several months ago I found out about this wonderful charity Project Linus.  Their basic goal is “to provide love, a sense of security, warmth and comfort to children who are seriously ill, traumatized, or otherwise in need through the gifts of new, handmade blankets and afghans, lovingly created by volunteer “blanketeers.”  How could you not love a charity like this?

I am pleased to announce that my first ever afghan is completed and ready to donate!  Many times in the past I have started one or another crafty project only to let it fall wayside.  This time it didn’t happen that way because I have a really good goal in mind.  Helping a child who needs some sense of security.  The other great part of this is that the projects are smaller than say making something adult or bed sized.  I did opt for a larger sized afghan because I’m guessing that people tend to make for smaller children forgetting that older kids are sick too.

Rocki has been found lounging on the afghan when I’m not looking but she knows it’s not hers.  It’s also being washed in what is hopefully a gentle detergent while I type.  I just emailed my local chapter rep asking how I get this to them.  They’re one county over so I can either drop it off or mail it.  There are many chapters throughout the country and of course they have a Facebook page. If you’re like me kind of on the fence about being crafty I urge you to give making a small blanket a try.  There are many options available and they offer patterns on their website.  Quilt, knit, crochet, or even find a no sew option, just take a look!

So I just heard back from the local chapter and her suggestion blew me away! Since we’re a bit of a distance from one another I should just wait until I have several and then arrange for a pick up!!  Seriously I don’t want to keep this for months!  How much can it cost to mail a child sized afghan?  I think I’ll get a nice shipping envelope and mail it to her.  I will absolutely make more to donate but I don’t want this sitting around that long, it seems ridiculous to me.

If you’re at all crafty or interested in helping these kids in need please take a look at their website: http://www.projectlinus.org/ I joined their facebook page and they often send me some thought provoking quotes and well as interesting info on what’s going on within the organization.  I really enjoyed my “project” you might too!

Have a peaceful day, Lin

Vegetarilin on Facebook

    • Marci
    • August 8th, 2010

    Your afghan looks nice and cozy. Unfortunately, I am creative but not crafty. I wonder if these items are sent to places that experience cold weather. Maybe they would except velour throws as well. Here in SW Pennsylvania a local Rite Aid always begins selling them 3/$10.00! I would love to purchase them and then add some cute iron on decals from Micheal’s.
    I just have never been able to knit or crotchet. (sp?)
    But I really like the idea of offering a soft security blanket for those who need them.
    Here it is August and for some reason, last night while I was working the idea of breaking out the sweats and new socks and long sleeved t shirts sounded just perfect.
    Probably because it was cooler than normal.
    I guess I am ready for fall.
    I will check out the link and see if there is a chapter near me.
    As always, your blog is full of helpful insight.
    Keep up the great work!
    Marci

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

