Grilled Stuffed Tomatoes

Yesterday was a much needed day off, fortunately tomorrow is too.  As for today, I’ll be working 8:30-7 pm.  I’m still trying to decide if I should bring dinner to work and eat early or pick up something on my way home and eat late.  I don’t like eating late but I also don’t like the idea of essentially bringing 3 meals to work.  Ah, decisions!

Fortunately I made a really great dinner last night.   The leftovers will take care of my work day lunch.   Yesterday I stopped at a local farm stand and bought some really nice beefsteak tomatoes.  I then made a rice, vegetable and cheese mixture to stuff them and cooked them outside on the grill.  I love it when people think vegetarians can’t barbeque!  I roasted both the peppers that went into the stuffing and the tomatoes so the finished product had that great smoky flavor of being cooked over a flame.

The prep time took a little longer than usual for me but I had several things going on at once and nothing was too difficult.  While the rice was cooking I had the peppers on the grill roasting.  While the rice cooled a little I was peeling and chopping the roasted peppers.  If you really want to skip a step you can buy a jar of roasted red peppers but they’re just not as good as doing it yourself.  The rest of the prep time went pretty quickly.  My recipe also ended up with about double the rice mixture needed but I like that.  The rice and veggies alone can be a great side dish for another meal.

My one mistake was trying to put them directly on the grill.  It wasn’t a total mistake or disaster, it just made taking them off the grill that much harder.  The fact that I tried to use a thicker bamboo spatula instead of a slim stainless steel one also didn’t help.  It made the job sloppy, hence my less than glamorous photo above.  Looks can be deceiving.  They were delicious, just a little off kilter.  Also, I’d like to say the one topless tomato was intentional to show you both the pretty topped ones and the stuffing itself.  That would be a lie.  When lifting that one off the grill the top slid off and fell between the grates.  I would suggest either being more careful when removing or grilling on a piece of foil for easier removal.

Ingredients

4-8 large beefsteak tomatoes (depending on size)

2 cups cooked rice (I used white)

1-2 tablespoons olive oil

2 large peppers or 8 smaller sweet peppers (or just used the jarred roasted peppers)

2 ears of corn on the cobb grilled  or frozen corn kernels (I used leftovers from 2 days ago)

6 oz fresh mozzarella diced (or vegan version)

4 oz veg parmesan cheese

4 scallions chopped

1 clove garlic finely minced

salt, pepper Italian seasoning to taste

Directions

Turn grill on medium high and place peppers directly on it, roast and turn until blackened on all sides, about 5 minutes pe side, remove from heat and allow to cool until you can handle them, then remove the blackened skin from each pepper, slice in half and remove seeds and top, then give them a rough chop

While the peppers are roasting, grill the corn as well.  I simply spread some olive oil on small pieces of foil, salt and pepper and wrap each corn individually, cook the same way as the peppers turning frequently, once cooled cut kernels from the cobb

Slice the top of each tomato off and a tiny bit of the bottom if needed to make them stand properly, gently take a knife or spoon to remove the inside pulp and seeds, turn upside down on a dish towel for at least 10 minutes to drain liquids

Take rice and drizzle with olive oil, add corn, chopped peppers, scallions, garlic and seasoning, add the diced cheese and mix well, spoon mixture into the cavity of each tomato pushing down so well filled, top each tomato if desired and place either directly on grill or on foil on the grill, roast for about 15 minutes until the tomato gets the rich slightly wrinkled look of a well roasted tomato.  Enjoy!

Have a peaceful day! Lin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

