Vegan Marshmallows

Does anyone else miss the sticky gooyness of marshmallows in the summertime?  I grew up both camping with my family and as a girl scout where treats made with marshmallows usually cooked over a campfire were a big treat.  Normally I don’t like overly sweet foods but there’s something about both s’mores and banana boats that I just love.

I’ve done a little research and found out some interesting info.  First in the easy to access category Smucker’s Marshmallow Ice Cream Topping is vegan!  I always love when I find a simple grocery store item that’s veg because I often don’t have time to schlep to the natural food store and Whole Foods is a good 30-45 minute drive.

For those of you who have checked your local natural food store and haven’t found any veg marshmallow’s I found a few interesting products that can be ordered online:

http://www.cosmosveganshoppe.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=CTGY&Category_Code=MOS

http://www.sweetandsara.com/products.php

For those of you willing to go to the effort of attempting to make your own I found the following recipes.  Personally all I can say is good luck.  The ingredients are not all typical grocery store items and my craving is not strong enough to .attempt the first recipe  If anyone attempts this one I’d love to know the results.  http://www.vegparadise.com/news84.html

This one looks a little easier.  But be careful with kosher gelatin.  Kosher does not mean veg, it can easily be made with fish products, if the label doesn’t say veg it most likely isn’t. http://www.fatfree.com/archive/1997/dec/msg00278.html

Finally, here are a couple of simple fun things to do just using some of the Smucker’s ice cream topping which I believe will be enough to end my craving.  If it doesn’t do the trick I may splurge and order from Sweet and Sara, their products do look delicious!

S’mores

Take 2 squares of graham cracker  using one as a base, place a square of veg chocolate on top, drizzle some of the marshmallow topping on top of the chocolate and top with 2nd graham cracker.  Wrap in a little foil and place on the grill for a couple of minutes until melted

Banana Boats

Place a banana on top of some foil wrap and slice  banana down the middle, fill the middle with some veg chocolate (baking chips will work well) and drizzle with marshmallow topping.  Wrap up place on grill for a couple of minutes on each side and serve.  I believe this one is gluten-free.

Have a peaceful day, Lin

Vegetarilin on Facebook

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

