Italian Tofu Scramble

I had been thinking about making a tofu scramble for a long time.  Yesterday I realized I had a 1/2 block of tofu that’s been sitting in my fridge for a couple of days.  It was definitely time to do something with it.  Tofu scramble for breakfast seemed to be just the thing.

Quite honestly I looked at a few recipes online and then just made up my own version since it all looks pretty simple.  My goal was to eat a nutritious filling breakfast before heading out on some errands.

My little one Rocki is in need of a haircut/grooming which she does not consider a treat.  For the record I like her much better with her long raggedy hair, but she must be hot!  The pics below are her before and after shots. While that was being done I wentt to Home Goods hoping to purchase a larger sized Eco Pan.  I bought a small one recently and really love it.  The non stick surface is made from ceramic I believe and isn’t considered toxic.  That, the library and several more stops, I never run out of errands!

Rocki before

Rocki after

This recipe took about 5 minutes to prepare the ingredients and under 10 minutes to cook.  If I was eating gluten this would be delicious in a wrap.  I’m pretty sure even  my husband would eat it, although I saved the 2nd portion for tomorrow instead of offering it to him.  Also, it’s both vegan and gluten-free.

Ingredients

1/2 block of firm or extra firm tofu drained and crumbled

1/2 cup chopped onion

1/4 cup each chopped pepper and sun-dried tomato

A few sprigs of fresh basil

1+ cup fresh spinach leaves

1 clove chopped garlic (optional)

1 tablespoon tomato sauce (I used jarred)

Salt, pepper and italian seasoning to taste

Directions

Add olive oil to coat a pan and turn on medium heat, add tofu and onion and saute until lightly browned which is a few minutes, and tomato sauce stir a minute then add pepper, tomato, basil  and seasoning, cook for a couple more minutes, when all looks done add the spinach and give a few turns until wilted, serve immediately

Have a peaceful day, Lin

    • Robynne L
    • August 4th, 2010

    You could still put it in a wrap – just use a large collard green leaf 🙂

  1. Robynne, What a great idea! I’ve used large lettuce leaves for wraps but never collard greens. I was under the impression that they were very tough unless cooked. I’ll have to try it out!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

