Gluten Free Peanut Butter Cookies

I should call these peanut/almond butter cookies but that’s just too long of a title.  I have been gluten-free for about 2 weeks now and am quite proud of my perseverance. However, cookies are a favorite food group of  mine and I am missing them from my life.

My intention is not to turn this into a gluten-free recipe blog but since it’s the diet I’m currently eating it seems that my recipes will follow suit.  I’ve tried this before and usually last about a week before a slip up.  From my reading gluten-free living seems like an all or nothing option because even a small amount can affect your system.  I don’t want to bore you with my minor health issues but I suffer from both IBS and arthritis.  From my reading I’ve discovered that gluten may have harmful consequences for both conditions.  More and more gluten is being studied as a possible cause of inflammation.

The difficult thing is that it’s hard to find out how long you have to be gluten-free to feel the results and how I’m not sure how detrimental is it if I have a tiny bit.  I really want to make a tofu scramble for breakfast with 1/2 a veggie sausage link in it.  Does that tiny bit of gluten ruin 2 weeks of hard work?  I can’t seem to find the answers regardless of all I’ve read.

Regardless of medical advice and without wanting to draw premature conclusions, I think I’m starting to feel a difference.  I worked very long hours sitting at my desk which is usually very uncomfortable and after 4 days in a row I felt better than I usually do after 2 days.  This morning I woke up with more energy than usual and went for a walk at 7am!  Also, without grossing anyone out my IBS symptoms seem to be much better.  We’ll see as time goes on if this is a fluke or true change.

On to my recipe,I found a few recipes for GF peanut butter cookies and have adapted them to both my personal taste and my desire for a healthier version.  If you just tasted these cookies you would never know they are gluten-free.  They are moist, rich and crunchy thanks to the peanut butter.  My house has that wonderful aroma of fresh-baked cookies.  This recipe was so easy, I literally tossed the ingredients into a bowl gave a really good stirring and baked them.  It’s a great recipe to have small children help with.

Ingredients

1/2 cup each almond and crunchy peanut butter (or 1 cup of what you have on hand)

1 large egg (or a mashed ripe banana for vegan version)

1/2 cup brown sugar

1/4 cup white sugar

1/2 teaspoon pure vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon each baking soda and baking powder

Directions

Place all ingredients in a bowl, give a really stir very well until all ingredients are incorporated, place by teaspoon on baking sheet and score with tines of a fork if desired.

Bake 10 minutes at 350, very important, let stand on baking sheet for a minute before transferring to a wire rack or they will crumble! Yields about 20 cookies

Have a peaceful day!  Lin

  1. These look delicious, just like the gluten-free peanut butter cookies a coworker used to occasionally bring in. Cookies & pizzas are the two things that still leave me with some cravings after 3-4 years of being gluten free, but I’m also finding that a little patience or a few extra dollars at the checkout can replicate just about anything.

    As for whether or not the diet is all or nothing, I don’t think it really is. While a tiny crumb can leave me feeling down for a few days, intentionally eating a wheat pizza is going to make me miserable for a week. After several months of trying my best to avoid wheat, I swear my taste buds and olfactory interpretation must have adapted because baking bread is now the worst smell I can imagine.

    It can take a long time to completely recover symptoms and kick the cravings, but now years down the line my joints are fine, IBS is a bad memory, and I’ve been sleeping 5-6 hours a night since I upped my physical activity. In addition, I had other symptoms like sweaty itchy skin and bad tooth/nail coloration – and these days I feel like a completely different person who is feeling younger than I did at 18. After some point, you would just intensely want to avoid it.

    My problem is even a bit more complicated though, as I found the protein in soy was also contributing to my joint aches and muscle tension. I am really not sure how someone would survive on a gluten-free, soy-free, vegetarian diet but I guess you’re cool with the eggs ‘cuz that can be a great source of fat and protein. Milk too, if you’re not intolerant, although lactose intolerance can actually be a secondary intolerance caused by damage done from wheat intolerance!

  2. That’s really encouraging to hear, thanks for the feedback. My hope is to be gluten-free for at least a couple of months before introducing small amounts back into my diet. It’s the only way I’ll really be able to identify cause and effect.

    I saw your pizza dough recipe and plan to try it as soon as I purchase the necessary ingredients. It looks really good.

    Thanks for the input! Lin

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

