Gratitude

Happiness cannot be traveled to, owned, earned, worn or consumed. Happiness is the spiritual experience of living every minute with love, grace, and gratitude.Denis Waitley

I love that quote.  It says so much with such simplicity.  Gratitude seems to be such a buzz word these days that sometimes I put it in the back of my mind with other buzz words.  When a word is overused I tend to tune it out.  Like the word “green.” Every large company is slapping a “green” label on every possible product these days that the original meaning of the word has become so diluted.  The same with “friend” which has come to mean something totally different than it did a few years ago thanks to the wonders of Facebook.

Today I’m taking a few minutes to share a couple of things I am grateful for.  I’d love it if you’d respond and share some of your gratitude with me.

  • My husband who I have so little in common with but after more than 24 years is still my best friend.
  • My children who are no longer children but amazing young adults with far more courage and sense of adventure than I was ever capable of.  I am very grateful for whatever part of their lives they are willing to share with me.
  • Thought provoking books, I feel lost without a good book to read.
  • A nighttime lightning storm, they can be truly spectacular
  • Farm fresh produce that feels and tastes like nature intended
  • Forgiveness, offered and accepted is so incredibly cathartic
  • My dogs who always are willing to share a quiet moment with me

I leave you with one last quote:

Feeling gratitude and not expressing it is like wrapping a present and not giving it.  ~William Arthur Ward

Have a peaceful day, Lin


    • Marci
    • July 30th, 2010

    Lin, I found your blog and have been hooked since I read your story about your shepherd’s passing. I have a 4yr old male Malinois named Bo and a 14 yr old female long haired Chihuahua named Reba, who of course rules the roost! We had to put our 18 yr old mixed breed dog, Scrap, to sleep last year! Can you imagine 18 yrs 8 months?
    Anyway, your blog about gratitude really hit home for me.
    I work in a hotel as a night auditor. I enjoy meeting different walks of life!
    Here are my gratitudes:
    1. My husband of 8 years, Bob. The absolute best man alive!
    Former Marine, Hoorah! The epitome of an honorable man! Semper Fi!
    2. My sons, who are now men and have turned into great family men!
    3. God, for showing and allowing me the knowledge to “see” the beauty that surrounds me.
    4. My mother, who has since passed, for instilling in me that living by cliches is not as silly as it sounds.
    *God does not give you what you cannot handle* my favorite quote of hers when life’s situations would get me down or “Beauty is in the eye of the beholder!”
    5. New knowledge. Recently I began incorporating more vegetable dishes into our meals. Sneaky perhaps but better all the way around so I look for new knowledge from people who know more than I on this topic.
    5. You. For opening my eyes to several things, including vegetarian recipes along with PICTURES to show what it looks like when completed, usually quite appealing!
    6. The friends that I have met along my life’s journey. I recently lost my best friend, she was found dead in her bathroom. She was 55. The very first thing I wanted to do was TELL everyone that I could what an amazing woman she was! The best mother and grandmother I have ever known. Some people take those two titles lightly but she emphasized each one individually. I am so grateful that she was my best friend. She was a hell raiser, overweight, drinker, smoker, she could put a trucker to shame but she had the heart of a lion and equally feirce about her children, grandchildren, and even GREAT grandchildren and her friends! I miss her and speak to her in prayer anytime she crosses my mind’s eye, just like I did for her when she was alive! We lived in 2d ifferent states for the past 10 years but our connection was uncanny!
    7. My own compassion, patience, and self worth.
    My mother used to say that, of both my oldest son and I, “you don’t know a stranger!” Meaning that everyone is considered a friend, confidant, even those who did not deserve our friendship.
    My list could go on and on obviously but I want to thank you for your blog and taking the time to write, so that others can read, and identify with you as a person!

    Have a great day!
    ~Marci~

  1. Marci,
    Thanks, you have truly made my day, and it’s only 7am! We seem to have many similarities. I work in customer service on the phones and get to speak to “meet” so many interesting people each day.

    Having a dog live over 18 years is an incredible blessing. The hardest part of Shana’s passing was her age. 11.5 years was way too young, even though she showed many early signs of old age. My other 2 are still a little lost without their alpha but they keep me going!

    I love that you added yourself of things to be grateful for, something I often overlook!

    I can tell you are an awesome person by seeing through so much of your great friend’s outer shell and seeing the true worth of the person inside. I’m sure she was equally lucky to have you in her life.

    I am truly grateful to your response. I place my posts on reddit.com and here is one response I received there: “It isn’t thanksgiving yet mom.” I laughed but was disheartened and made to feel old at the same time!

    Have a great day yourself!

    Oh, and not to be totally self serving and lose a good mood, feel free to join my facebook page, I’m attempting to get that off the ground! http://www.facebook.com/pages/Vegetarilin/133304120041731?v=wall&ref=ts

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

