Raspberry Balsamic Vinaigrette

Store bought salad dressing doesn’t do it for me anymore.  Over a year ago I gave up on them and started a collection of interesting vinegars.  I usually dress a salad with olive oil and an interesting vinegar.  Some of my favorite varieties are pear, raspberry blush and a good balsamic.  I have a fig vinegar which is very good but extremely tart and I have to be in the mood for that.  I bought a strawberry basil variety which sadly did not taste like much, but I’m always glad to try a new variety.

I have a favorite salad at a Greek restaurant we frequent.  It’s called a grape salad and tomorrow I’m going to try and recreate it.  I can’t quite figure out what their dressing is made from but it seems to be sweet and tangy.  I’ve decided that I’ll try it with a raspberry balsamic vinaigrette which I believe will be very complimentary to the salad itself.  The dressing I just made this morning, but the salad will have to wait until tomorrow since it’s a work day and I don’t have all the ingredients.  As for the dressing, the ingredients were all 0n hand and it was completed in under 10 minutes time.

Ingredients

3 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
1 tablespoon honey (agave nectar for vegans)
1/4 cup raspberry preserves
1/4 cup olive oil
Salt, red pepper flakes, parsley, and freshly ground black pepper to taste

Heat the preserves, honey and vinegar in a saucepan on medium low heat until blended, add oil and seasoning and stir

Let cool before serving

Have a great day!  Lin

  1. great recipe! and so much better! no preservatives and more taste. thanks.

  2. When I posted this I had made it and tasted it but not on a salad. My dinner was a salad with it and it was great. A little thick and sweet with a kick from the red pepper flakes. I think you’ll enjoy it.

  3. Thanks for the marvelous posting! I truly enjoyed
    reading it, you are a great author.I will make certain to
    bookmark your blog and definitely will come back down the road.

    I want to encourage you to ultimately continue your great posts,
    have a nice weekend!

  4. With havin so much content and articles do you ever run into any
    issues of plagorism or copyright violation?
    My blog has a lot of exclusive content I’ve either written myself or outsourced but it looks like a lot of it is popping it up all over the internet without my permission. Do you know any ways to help reduce content from being stolen? I’d genuinely appreciate
    it.

  1. July 26th, 2010

Leave a Reply

