Grilled Eggplant Parmesan

When speaking to my son yesterday he mentioned that he is enjoying cooking at the various hostels he’s been staying in while travelling through Europe.  I’m not surprised since he earned the funds for this trip by working in a pizzeria.  He’s actually a very good cook but we rarely get to taste his food at home.

Most recently he cooked a grilled eggplant parmesan which of course got me in the mood for it.  I love eggpant parm but am fussy about it.  I don’t like when it’s greasy or heavily breaded.  When I asked him  for the recipe, it almost sounded too effortless to be called a recipe.  I simplified his version even more by using sliced farm fresh tomato’s instead of a tomato sauce. I also have plenty of fresh basil from my garden which I used.

This recipe is gluten free and can easily be adapted to a vegan diet by simply using a vegan cheese.  This and a salad made a delicious main course for myself.  My husband enjoyed it with a chicken breast marinaded in Italian dressing and grilled.  I enjoyed mine with a side of quinoa pasta.  We use one side of the grill for meat only and the other for veggies.  I also have color coordinated cutting boards so that my veggie board never touches meat.


Ingredients

2 small to medium sized eggplant

2-4 large fresh tomato’s

1 lb fresh mozzarella (or vegan cheese)

1-2 cloves of garlic either halved or crushed

several sprigs of fresh basil whole pieces or julienned

Olive oil

Salt, pepper and italian seasoning to taste

Directions

Preheat the grill to a medium high heat

Slice the eggplant, tomato and cheese into 1/4″ slices, rub the garlic on 1 side of the eggplant slices, lightly brush a little olive oil on each side of eggplant and season each section

Grill each piece of eggplant until just starting to brown and turn to the other side, about 5 minutes per side

When eggplant is done, layer veggies in a greased baking pan or cookie sheet with the eggplant on the bottom, a slice of tomato, the fresh basil and top with a slice of cheese, season the top of each if you’d like,

You can either do this as individual sections on a baking sheet or layer them 2 deep in a shallow baking pan.  I lower the heat down to a medium low and place the pan right on the grill and cook up to 10 minutes when the cheese is nicely melted.

  1. This looks fantastic! I am going to try this next week.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

