Guacamole

This summer I have been on a huge avocado kick.  I’m giving into my craving because they are so incredibly healthy.  Some of the benefits of eating avocado include a high fiber content, they’re a great source of vitamin E, folate, and potassium.  They are considered beneficial for lowering cholesterol, overall heart health, eye health and are considered good for preventing certain cancers.

While in Prague my son texted me asking for a recipe for guacamole.  While dining out his friend tasted it for the first time and fell in love.  She wanted to know how to make it.  This made me laugh because I don’t really consider this a recipe but a group of ingredients I mix together with add ons or measurements being dependent upon my mood.

This is the basic ingredients I use and the amount here is for a gathering.  Yesterday for lunch I made a small bowl with 1 avocado and enjoyed it with some organic chips.  Also, I apologize for the lack of picture, I just didn’t think of it.

Please add delete or change this recipe to your personal taste.  The 2 key ingredients is the obvious avocado and next the fresh lime juice.  I mix the lime juice in immediately because it keeps the avocado from browning.  People question eating day old guacamole because it tends to brown quickly.  I’ve done it a couple of times after removing the top layer.  So far so good, I haven’t gotten sick from it yet!

Ingredients

3 ripe avocados (soft but not mushy)

Juice of 1/2 large or 1 whole small lime

1/2 cup chopped tomato

1/4 cup chopped onion

Chopped jalapeno to taste (optional)

Cumin, salt and pepper to taste

A few sprigs of fresh cilantro or coriander to taste

Directions

Halve each avocado and scoop the flesh into a bowl, add juice and all other ingredients, mash until blended, the more you mash the creamier it will be, mash less for a chunky texture

  1. ahh the ever-lovely guac….America’s Test Kitchen also has a great recipe, but I can’t wait to try this one and compare! Thanks for the heads up! Some of the best recipes I have are ones my mom sent me when I was kicking around abroad..

  1. March 1st, 2017
    Trackback from : Juice Extractor

Leave a Reply

