Quick Blueberry Crisp

Today was fun.  I went to see Grown Ups with my friend Tracy and my mom.  The movie was light and funny just as I expected of Adam Sandler and the cast.  After the movie we went for lunch and had a good relaxing time.

Earlier I woke up craving a sweet breakfast full of blueberries but not too heavy.  I knew lunch would be immediately after the movie so I didn’t want a big filling breakfast.  The idea of a blueberry crisp was the first thing that came to mind.  Then I thought that crisps usually are meant to have multiple servings and take awhile to bake.  I didn’t have the time and I didn’t want to turn the oven on.

After a quick online search I found several recipes for a microwavable version that literally took minutes to make.  Of course I played around with the recipe and made it single serving sized for my one meal.  While it came out very tasty and was super easy to make I will be honest and say that I would still use an oven baked recipe for company.  However, for just myself and being cooked start to finish in under 10 minutes I will definitely be making this again.

Ingredients

1 cup blueberries (I used fresh)

1 teaspoon lemon juice

1 teaspoon corn starch

1 teaspoon brown sugar

Topping

3 tablespoons oatmeal

3 tablespoons whole wheat flour

1 tablespoon brown sugar (more if desired)

2 teaspoons vegan margarine or butter melted

Directions

Stir blueberries, cornstarch, lemon juice and 1 teaspoon brown sugar in a 5 inch microwavable dish, microwave 1 minute stir well and microwave 1/2 to 1 minute longer

While blueberries are in microwave mix together the ingredients for the topping, spoon on top of the blueberries and microwave 1-2 minutes longer, cool for a few minutes and serve

Here is the link to the original recipe that I got the idea from: http://www.food.com/recipe/Blueberry-Crisp-18053

  1. Yum! This sounds great and I just happened to pick up a pint of fresh blueberries.

  2. I’m no longer certain the place you are getting
    your information, but good topic. I needs to spend some time finding out
    much more or understanding more. Thank you for
    great information I used to be looking for this information for my mission.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

