Vegan Oatmeal Cookies

In an attempt to be true to my word I am once again trying my hand at vegan baking.  While my intention at this time is not to go 100% vegan my goal is to eat a predominantly vegan diet.  Previously I have posted my vegan banana bread recipe which is a huge success in my household and among non veg friends.

I am inspired by Chef Chloe Coscarelli who recently won Food Network’s Cupcake Wars.  A show I really don’t like by the way…  However, I am hopeful that food television in general takes her victory as a sign that there is a lot of inspiration in veg/vegan cooking and they will perhaps finally consider hosting a veg friendly show on one of their networks.

Yesterday I woke up early with some energy.  Living in Florida I try to keep my oven off during the day but I figured at 7am and a mere 77 degrees outside, what the heck?  Nothing beats a fresh baked cookie!  Cookies are a favorite food of mine but I am pretty much off the store bought varieties, they pretty much taste like the chemicals they are baked with.

After viewing several recipes online I came up with this one, which is a mixture of several others I looked at.  The ingredients were all in my pantry or fridge and it seemed simple enough.  The result are a rich chewy oatmeal cookie.  While I prefer a crisp cookie these are definitely a great start to creating a really great vegan cookie.


Recipe

3/4 cup vegan margarine room temperature

2/3 cup brown sugar

1/3 cup white sugar

3 cups quick cook oatmeal

1/2 cup whole wheat flour

1/2 cup white flour

1/2 cup rice milk (soy if that’s what you have)

1.5 teaspoon vanilla

1/4 teaspoon baking soda

1/2 teaspoon baking powder

1/4 teaspoon salt

1 teaspoon cinnamon

a pinch of all spice or to taste

1.5 cup total mix of your choice of vegan chocolate chips, cranberries, chopped walnuts, or raisins (I did 1 cup chips and 1/2 cup cranberries)

Directions

Cream together margarine and sugars until smooth, add in rice milk and vanilla

Mix dry ingredients together and then add to wet stirring well

Add your choice of fruit, nuts and chocolate

Drop onto greased baking sheet by the rounded teaspoon

Bake 350 for 10-11 minutes, cool a minute in the pan and move to a wire rack

  1. I visit everyday a few websites and websites to read posts, however
    this blog gives feature based content.

  2. Hola! I’ve been reading your weblog for some time now and finally got the bravery to go ahead and give you a shout out from Huffman Tx! Just wanted to say keep up the great job!

  3. Hello! This is kind of off topic but I need some help from an established blog.

    Is it tough to set up your own blog? I’m not very techincal but I can figure things out pretty fast. I’m thinking about making my
    own but I’m not sure where to start. Do you have any tips or suggestions? Thanks

  4. Very quickly this site will be famous among all blog people, due to it’s fastidious articles

  5. There are variousmoles and wart removalmethods that can be employed to
    safely and practically painlessly take away these
    undesired skin indentations.

  6. Good day, Could I export your image and utilize it on my own website?

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

