Pasta with Mushroom & Pistachio

What is it about comfort food that just hits the spot after an emotional day?  For the record after a fattening lunch out with friends I figured I’d make a really light, healthy salad for dinner.  First, due to an unexpectedly busy afternoon I never got to the store for basic ingredients like lettuce so the salad was out.  I really wanted some pasta but also wanted a recipe that was somewhat healthy.  I came up with the Pasta with Mushroom and Pistashio recipe.

To explain my hectic day, it began with just running some errands and meeting friends which sounds easy enough.  Then mom called asking to have her hair done and one thing led to another.  Later my son who is backpacking through Europe called.  My day was not so simple anymore.  Every parent knows that certain tone to their child’s voice when they want to tell us something and they don’t know how.

Fortunately, it was all good news, for him anyway.  It seems my son loves the city of Prague and has decided to extend his stay.  The original plan was for him to come home early August but now he will get an apartment and stay until December.  He has a lot of planning to do.  He will have to figure out how to get a work visa and then find a job.  There seems to be several opportunities for English speaking people so he doesn’t think this will be a problem.  I am so excited for him but sad for me, I was looking forward to seeing him in a few weeks.  Thank goodness for Skype, as it will be easy to stay in touch.

Back to my comfort food.  This recipe is truly one of those throw it together recipes.  The most time consuming part was shelling the pistachios.  It would have gone faster if my dogs weren’t so eager to taste test for me.  The flavors melded really well together and I managed to have a rich, creamy tasting dinner that wasn’t overly heavy.

Pasta with Mushroom & Pistachio

1/2 cup shelled pistachios

10 oz mushrooms- I used Baby Bella’s, a mix of exotics would be great

1 large onion sliced thin- I used Vidalia

8 oz thin spaghetti

2 tbsp butter

4 tbsp olive oil

1 cup fat free half & half (use full fat if you like)

2 cloves minced garlic

1 tbsp balsamic vinegar

Salt & pepper to taste

Directions

Cook pasta according to directions

Place pistachios in food processor and blender and grind until fine pieces, remove from processor

In a saucepan melt butter and saute onion until lightly browned, add olive oil and mushrooms and 2 teaspoons of olive oil cook a few minutes then add balsamic vinegar and garlic cooking for 1 more minute

Take 1/2 cup of half and half and place in food processor with approximately 1/2 cup of mushroom mixture, pulse about 5 times until mushrooms are in fine pieces and add back to the pan with the sliced mushrooms and onions

Add second 1/2 cup of half and half to pan and up to 2 tablespoons of olive oil and stir well on low heat adding 2/3’s of pistachios, salt and pepper to taste

Mix pasta in with the sauce and serve topped with remaining nuts

    • twoveganboys
    • July 9th, 2010

    This looks and sounds delicious. Thanks for the kind words. I really like your page as well. Hope you have a lovely weekend.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

