Vegetarian Paella

Sadly the past few days I seem to be having an arthritis flare up.  I can feel some serious stiffness throughout my spine and am extremely fatigued.  I am hoping this will pass quickly and will do everything in my power to ensure that happens.

I always try to eat very healthily but at times like this it’s really imperative.  There are several foods found in nature that have anti inflammatory components that I eat and others that are inflammatory and I avoid.  Sadly the inflammatory vegetables are among my favorites so it’s more difficult to avoid them then to eat the correct foods.

Among inflammatory foods are nightshade produce.  Included are tomato, eggplant, pepper, and some potato’s.  These vegetables contain alkaloids and can impact nerve-muscle function.

Anti inflammatory foods that I try to eat regularly are pineapple, mango, papaya, turmeric, cherries, blueberries, olive oil, and cruciferous vegetables like broccoli and cauliflower.  I have a daily smoothie using many of the fruits so that part is easy.

When cooking I try to use no more than 1 inflammatory food as an ingredient so as not to overload on them.  For my paella I decided to forgo tomato and stick with mini sweet peppers.  I realize that tomato is often a staple of paella but I decided that I have enough tomato based meals and it is a flavor that often overpowers others.

My other unorthodox addition to this recipe is turmeric.  It’s a spice I can’t get enough of  but am very careful of what I add it to.  Turmeric adds a richness that has to blend well with other flavors to work.  A word of caution, turmeric will stain anything and everything a lovely tint of yellow-orange.  The stain is not easy to remove!

Ingredients

2 cups of rice cooked with 1/2 teaspoon turmeric

3-4 links of soy sausage

8-10 mini sweet peppers cut into 1-2″ pieces

3 cups broccoli florets cut in bite sized pieces

6 oz sliced mushrooms

2 zucchini halved lengthwise and cut into 1/2″ slices

A few teaspoons olive oil

2 cloves garlic chopped

1 vegetables bouillon cube heated with 1/2 cup of water and 1 bay leaf (done in microwave for 2-3 minutes

A few saffron threads

1 teaspoon turmeric, salt and pepper and paprika to taste

1/2 teaspoon adobo seasoning

Directions

Add olive oil to pan and brown sausage links, remove from heat and add veggies saute until lightly browned  and broccoli is bright green, then add garlic and seasonings cook for 1 more minute

Slice sausage into 1″ pieces and add back into pot with vegetables, stir in  precooked rice and bouillon mixture and let stir for a few more minutes.  Serve immediately

If you prefer your vegetables more cooked than that you can bake the entire dish in the oven at 350 for 10 minutes.  It will help blend the flavors but for my personal taste the veggies end up overcooked.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

