Eating Lions

I am very perplexed by the recent uproar regarding an Arizona restaurant serving lion meat.  This restaurant owner decided that the best way to honor FIFA’s World Cup location was to serve Lion Burgers!  Poor lion, how did it get caught up in the middle of all of this.  How is eating an animal paying homage to anything.

In reality it is just a pathetic sick way to make a buck. If people are willing to eat lion meat then he will profit greatly.  So will the entire chain behind him including those that obtained the meat, the seller of the meat, the butcher, etc etc.

There’s one thing I don’t understand.  If you’re willing to eat a cow, pig, deer, chicken, or fish why not eat a lion?  Why not eat a dog or a cat?  Is it because we haven’t changed the name of lion meat to make it more diet friendly.  We have beef,pork, venison, and poultry, do we just need a friendly, less obvious name for lion meat to make it more palatable?

I wish I could say I was a lifelong vegetarian but I’m not.  It’s been an on and off process for years although I never ate much meat.  I had odd rules like nothing with bones so that I could fool myself into believing it hadn’t once been alive.  I can no longer do that.  An animal is an animal, life is life and we should not eat those that are unable to defend themselves.

Gandhi stated: “I hold that the more helpless a creature, the more entitled it is to protection by man from the cruelty of man.”  Personally I think that says it all.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

