What’s so Funny About Peace Love & Understanding

Most of the time I enjoy my job.  I work in customer service for a company that advertises nationally and provides a service many people need.  I have the rare ability to be my natural self on the phone which is not typical in a call center environment.  I also find that a reasonable percentage of people that I speak to are relatively interesting and I enjoy speaking to them..

With that said, every once in awhile I speak to someone who just irritates the hell out of me.  I had that call the other day.  After my typical greeting the response I had took me by surprise.  The caller angrily wanted to know if my company was promoting a “Homosexual Agenda.”

Of  course I was taken aback, and my casual immediate response was “No sir, we do not promote a homosexual agenda, however, we also do not discriminate against anyone regardless of their background.  This certainly did not end the conversation.

Apparently the reason for concern is that a character on a commercial is allegedly wearing a rainbow t-shirt.  Now I think I’ve figured out which commercial it is, and frankly the shirt that is worn has a band of stripes with a few colors that might be found in a rainbow.  One would have to be really looking hard to see this and would have to really be looking to see it.

In reality, I happily work for a company which does not discriminate either against employees or clients.  My company will happily participate in or help sponsor an event for the GLBT community.  But how does this equate with having or promoting a homosexual agenda?  In all honesty, I don’t know what this agenda really means other than wanting the equal rights that should be considered inalienable to all Americans.  Is that actually an agenda?

This caller continued his barrage against my company and “homosexuals” a word he couldn’t let go of.  He stated that he was a “Good Christian” from the bible belt and homosexuality was against G-d.  As pissed as I was I kind of chucked that of all people who could have taken this call he got stuck with an Agnostic Jew.

I politely and innocently stated “But I always thought Jesus loved all people.”  This gave a moments pause before he started quoting the bible.  At this point I had enough, I simply said “Sir I will not have this conversation with you.”  I repeated this phrase a few more times with no uncertainty when he mentioned that it was common knowledge that most pedophiles are homosexuals.  At this point I wrapped up the call I had enough.

The icing on the cake was when he questioned why our advertisers chose people in rainbow shirts but won’t promote anyone waving a confederate flag because that was what he believed in.  I then had a moments consideration of a commercial with someone sporting a rainbow shirt while waving a confederate flag.  Too much?  Maybe.

I held back and bit my tongue because I like my job and the company I work for.  This man is not worthy of my risking that job.  It left me shaking and in need of a 5 minute restorative break just to get my bearings back.  It is so sad that as far as our society has come we still have so much further to go.

    • Jessie
    • June 27th, 2010

    Hi- clicked over here from Feministe. You asked for some feedback on the ‘homosexual agenda.’

    So, I used to frequent this absurd website that reviewed kids’ movies for how Christian they were (Harry Potter = magic = BAD; Mary Poppins = magic = delightful. I never did understand that one). Anyway, this guy, of course, was against the ‘Homoesexual Agenda,’ and, thoughtfully, provided a link. In the late 1980’s, a guy wrote an article for a satire magazine describing what conservatives must think to behave as they do toward GLBT people. Some jackass read it into the congressional record shortly after without the first paragraph explaining that it was satirical. Now conservatives think that it’s real.

    Here’s the link: http://www.fordham.edu/halsall/pwh/swift1.html

    • Thanks for the feedback. I wonder if the first paragraph of that article would have made a difference. Even with the most obvious and straightforward disclaimers people hear what they want to hear. I would assume that right wing conservative hateful people would read that disclaimer as something totally different than was intended. It’s really sad, someone very close to me is morphing from a very open minded loving person to a Christian Conservative and I am truly not capable of understanding how their lifelong beliefs can wither away to become a person with less and less tolerance or acceptance of others.

    • Bushfire
    • June 28th, 2010

    I read some sort of ultra-conservative document once about the Homosexual Agenda. Unfortunately I really don’t remember what it was called, but I do remember what the agenda was. There was a flow chart with a long list of consequences of gay-rights activism and the end result of it all was normalization of homosexuality. So, the big scary climax of the homosexual agenda is that we want to be viewed as normal. I really can’t imagine why that’s scary, but I also can’t imagine why Jesus Loves You Unless I Say So or Homosexuals Are Pedophiles (even though in real life most pedophiles are hetero).

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

