Vegan Nike’s

I know some people view being a vegan as simply a dietary choice.  For me, if and when I go vegan it will be a lifestyle choice.  I will not abstain from eating animal products while wearing leather shoes.  It makes no sense.

One of my greatest reasons for not being a vegan is footwear.  I don’t mean this in a vanity based way.  I have some back issues and am supposed to wear supportive shoes with good arch support etc.  I personally interpret this as ugly, boring, practical shoes.

My mom has similar issues and is a huge fan of Birkenstocks.  She dragged me into the store once.  I asked the salesperson if the Birks with a little cushion were the ugliest of the ugly shoes and her reply was “as a matter of fact, yes they are!”  She cracked me up and I ended up buying  a pair that I never wear because they’re so ugly.  I need to get over that because I did wear then on vacation in Tn and they were great!  However, they are ugly and leather.

My favorite footwear is actually Reef flipflop’s.  They have a decent arch and feel great, plus I hate wearing closed shoes.  If forced to wear my supportive practical sneakers I prefer Nike’s.  I have a couple of pairs and none of they mention what they are actually made of, so I decided to email them inquiring as to which products are vegan. Ironically I don’t normally contact companies, but have done so several times recently.  They replied to my query very quickly and would like to share their response:

Hello Lin,

That’s a great question.

Actually most of our Nike running shoes are made out of Synthetic leather.  To help keep the shoe light weight.  I will include a link below so you can view them.  Also the reason why we don’t list our material on our shoe’s is due to it being proprietary information.  I will certainly let our corporate department know about your request.  If you have any other question/suggestions for me, feel free to email me back on this.  Have a great day Lin.

Nike Women’s Running shoes.
http://store.nike.com/index.jsp?country=US&lang_locale=en_US#l=shop,pwp,c-1+100701/hf-10001+4294967132+12001/t-Women’s_Running_Shoes
Nike Men’s Running shoes.
http://store.nike.com/index.jsp?country=US&lang_locale=en_US#l=shop,pwp,c-1+100701/hf-10002+4294967132+12001/t-Men’s_Running_Shoes

I hope I was able to answer all your questions, if you have any more questions please feel free to email me back or contact us by phone at 1-800-806-6453 7 days a week 5 a.m. to 10 p.m. pst.

Best regards,
Joey
Nike

    • Ann Krischer
    • July 5th, 2010

    My husband won’t wear leather shoes although he is not a vegan, just vegetarian. He wears Salomon athletic shoes. Most sneakers or running shoes are synthetic leather now. If you use a site like Zappos, Merrell or REI they give the specifications. There are non-leather Birkenstocks but they are hideous. Flip flops are not good shoes for those who need arch or ankle support. I work in a physical therapy office and see many patients come in due to inadequate footwear. Crocs are one of the worst offenders not to mention that they are even uglier than Birkenstocks. Brooks Addiction is my favorite athletic shoe and there is no leather there. It’s a great shoe for those with flat feet.

  1. Ann thanks, you gave me much to work with. As much as I love my Reef’s I wear them only on short trips or to work where I am sitting all day. Having a strong aversion to closed shoes i have enjoyed wearing New Balance Mules and was planning on purchasing another pair. I tried on the Merrell mules but the arch just isn’t quite right. Saloman is a new brand to me an they offer a mule, not the most attractive but the black looks wearable. Sports Authority claims to sell them so I will go and try them on. I appreciate the suggestion. I agree with you Birk’s are hideous. It’s almost like they try to make the ugliest shoe possible. As for vegan Birk’s, they are typically all rubber and don’t hold much appeal.

  2. Having read this I believed it was rather informative.

    I appreciate you spending some time and energy to put this short article together.
    I once again find myself personally spending a lot of time both reading and leaving comments.

    But so what, it was still worth it!

  3. ofapvkqagqfb

  4. aufznvzlyrhp

  5. I think this is among the most vital information for me.
    And i’m glad reading your article. But should remark on some general things,
    The site style is ideal, the articles is really excellent
    : D. Good job, cheers

  6. Today i spent 300 bucks for platinium roulette system , i hope that i will earn my first $$ online

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

