Curried Potato’s in Red Sauce

I love the smell of my house when cooking with spices such as curry and tumeric.  To me the aroma says come on in and have a bite.  Fortunately this invention tasted quite good too.

I subscribe to the magazine Vegetarian Times and I also have them email me recipes, most of which are in some back issue of the magazine but I’ve forgotten about.  The other day I received a recipe for Curried Potato’s but there were a few things that didn’t appeal to me.

I made a few adjustments, using canned tomato sauce in place of the tomato’s.  I’m just not a huge fan of cooked tomato’s unless it’s a sauce and couldn’t picture the combination.  I also thought chick peas would work better than black beans, so that and the addition of spinich was another change.

You are welcome to view the original recipe here: http://www.vegetariantimes.com/recipes/10637?utm_source=LowFat&utm_medium=newsletter&utm_campaign=lf182

Personally, I thought my version came out great.  One thing to note, as it cooked the flavors became more mild, the heat lessened.  While I tasted during cooking I thought 1 jalapeno was enough but when we sat down to eat we agreed that it was a little mild.

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 Tbs. vegetable oil
  • 2 medium onions, sliced thin
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • 4 large Yukon gold potatoes, peeled and cut into chunks
  • 3 carrots, peeled and cut into 2″ pieces, or store bought pre cut
  • 1 box frozen chopped spinich drained well
  • 2-3 teaspoon curry powder
  • 1 teaspoon tumeric (optional, but great!)
  • 1 15-oz. can chick peas with fluid
  • 1 8oz can tomato sauce
  • 1 can low-sodium vegetable broth
  • 1 or 2 jalapeño chiles, seeded and chopped (your preference)
  • 1-2 tsp. balsamic vinegar
  • Salt, pepper to taste

Directions

Heat oil in large skillet over medium heat.

Add onions cook 5 to 7 minutes until starting to brown, add garlic for 1 minute. Stir in potatoes, carrots, and curry powder, and cook 3-4 minutes.

Add chick peas with their liquid, tomato sauce, broth, jalapeño chiles, vinegar, and spinich; season with salt and pepper. Cover and simmer 45 minutes, or until potatoes are flaky and carrots are cooked through, stirring occasionally.  Serve over jasmine rice.

Last, my husband’s plate was topped with some grilled shrimp which he mixed right in.

  1. It sounds really yummy. I will love it with hot rice. Thanks for sharing.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

