Tea Marinade for Grilled Veggies

In case you don’t know I live in Florida.  What that means is for about 2/3 the year it is absolutely gorgeous outside and the other 1/3 it’s hotter than heck.  Today is the latter.  15 minutes outside at a garden store was too hot and humid for me to handle.  With heat like this and the AC running all day there is no way I’m turning on my oven.

I believe it’s time for some grilled veggies.  I stopped by a local farm stand and was not thrilled with the selection.  My guess is that being Monday  the weekend shoppers picked through the best selection.  The reason I state this is because my combination of veggies is a little odd.  Zucchini cut lengthwise, sweet potato, and mini peppers.  I really would have liked some portobello’s to round it out but I will manage.  In reality any veggies that grill well will work with this recipe.  Leftovers will be tossed into a salad for my lunch tomorrow.  Also, for my husband I have a piece of tilapia marinating separately which will be grilled as well.

Green Tea Marinade

1 Green Tea bag

1 1/4 cups boiling water

3/4 cup low sodium soy sauce

1 teaspoon Agave Nectar (I’m sure honey or brown sugar would work)

2 teaspoons rice vinegar

2 garlic cloves crushed

1/2 – 1 teaspoon red pepper flakes

a few sprigs of basil and cilantro or coriander finely chopped

I did not use any lemon zest or juice because I didn’t think it would go well with the sweet potato but with other vegetables it would be a great addition!

An assortment of vegetables of your choosing

Directions

Let the tea steep for several minutes and cool.  Add in all other ingredients (except veggies) and whisk well.  Place veggies and marinade in sealed container and give a good shake.  Let sit for a couple of hours and shake or turn over every 1/2 hour.

Preheat grill to a medium high heat and place veggies on grill.  I add veggies 1 at a time depending on their cook time.  I will cook the sweet potato slices for about 10 minutes per side.  Once I turn them I add the zucchini and peppers which cook about 4 minutes per side.  Every grill is different so I cook mostly by the look and use nice dark grill lines as a sign that it’s time to flip or remove each item.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

