School lunches & plastic wrap

I have become a regular follower of Mrs Q’s fedupwithschoollunch blog and find it very interesting.  School lunches are barely recognizable compared to the hot lunches I ate as a kid throughout the 1970’s.  Several guest bloggers have shown the difference between school lunches in the USA and other countries throughout the world.  I read those posts and wonder how this supposedly advanced country of ours is comfortable serving our kids such absolute crap and then having little to no problem with the majority of these lunches are tossed in the garbage.  But this isn’t even my real issue.

My concern is that the new style of hot lunches seems to be doled out in individual sized servings all wrapped in plastic.  Heating food in plastic wrap can leak toxins into our children’s food.  I realize that this is somehow considered controversial that some articles say plastic absolutely contain toxins others say that’s not true, but really do we want to take these chances with our children’s health and well being?  I am glad that the subject of school lunches is getting so much attention and that there seems to be a momentum working towards fixing this issue within our schools.  I just hope that while they are working towards healthier food options they also recognize the need for a healthier means of preparing that food.  Who knows how many years these toxins will sit in our children’s bodies before they show themselves in the form of cancer or some other disease?  Am I the only person that’s bothered by this?  I find it hard to believe but I can’t really find anything demonstrating this concern.

    • Gembird
    • May 31st, 2010

    Hi, I came here via Feministe 🙂

    It might be worth looking into phthalates- there’s research being done at the moment into whether they cause cancers and hormone-related conditions. Phthalates are found in a lot of plastics so they’re a good place to start if you’re concerned about this kind of thing.

    I work for a company that produces plastic medical equipment, and we have to look at this kind of stuff a lot, so I thought maybe I could help a little even if it’s just giving you a chemical name 🙂

  1. Gembird, thank you! I appreciate your pointing me in a direction to research. Random Google searches without correct verbiage is quite pointless.

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

