Pasta with Butternut Squash Sauce

I really planned not to eat any dinner tonight.  My friends and I met for lunch and I ate plenty between appetizers and my meal.  However, I still need food for the week thanks to my crazy work schedule.  I made this recipe with dairy products about a month ago and decided that I would much prefer it with no animal product.  With little effort I transformed it into a vegan dinner.  It can easily be made gluten free with the use of rice pasta or steamed shaved zucchini which I find a wonderful substitute for pasta.

Ingredients

1 butternut squash

1 lb of pasta, I used vermicelli

2 tablespoons olive oil

1 large or 2 small shallots diced

3/4 cup soy milk plain or vanilla work fine

1/2 cup of chopped walnuts

2 teaspoons lemon juice

Pepper, basil and nutmeg to taste

Directions

Half squash and remove seeds, place flesh down in a baking dish and fill with 1/2 inch of water

Bake at 350 until soft, 30-45 minutes

Cook pasta according to directions and drain reserving 1/4 cup of pasta water

Spoon squash into food processor or blender and add lemon juice, pasta water plus 1/4 cup of walnuts, blend until smooth

Heat oil in a dutch oven and saute shallots until translucent then add squash mixture

Add soy milk to squash mixture and blend well

Toss finished sauce with the pasta and top with remaining walnuts when serving

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

