Mushroom Ravioli with Balsamic Reduction Glaze

My original plan for Sunday evening was to have dinner at a local pizzeria.  After spending a day switching my kids bedrooms I looked a wreck and was too tired to fix myself up.  I think a day of dusting, vacuuming, washing bedding and moving furniture will wear anyone out.  At about 5:30pm I looked in the fridge hoping for something more inspired than grilled cheese and found a package of Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti Ravioli I had recently bought.  I decided to try a balsamic reduction to go with it and found it to be surprisingly easy and tasty.  A good combination!  When making a reduction one is supposed to use a high quality vinegar.  As usual, I did not follow that rule.  I had Publix Balsamic Vinegar and that’s what I used.  It came out fine, but I’m certain it would improve with a higher quality product.  Last, there was a little leftover reduction which I refrigerated in an airtight container and will use as a salad dressing later this week!

Ingredients

1 9 oz package Buitoni Wild Mushroom Agnolotti Ravioli (found in refrigerator section of grocery store)

1 cup balsamic vinegar

¼ cup extra virgin olive oil

¼ cup finely chopped walnuts

A few turns of McCormick Italian Herb Seasoning Grinder

Fresh ground pepper to taste

1 pinch sugar (optional)

Directions

Cook pasta according to package directions

Pour vinegar into a sauce pan and bring to a boil stirring regularly

Continue at a light boil until reduced to a syrup like consistency, add sugar if desired

Continue stirring

Add seasoning and olive oil and reduce heat to low setting for a few minutes

Toss the pasta with the vinegar reduction

Once plated sprinkle with chopped walnuts and serve

  1. I blog quite often and I genuinely appreciate your information.

    The article has really peaked my interest. I will book mark your site and
    keep checking for new information about once a week. I subscribed to
    your Feed too.

  2. I just like the helpful info you provide for your articles.
    I will bookmark your blog and test once more here regularly.
    I am quite certain I’ll be informed many new stuff right here! Best of luck for the following!

  3. My developer is trying to convince me to move to .net from PHP.
    I have always disliked the idea because of the costs.
    But he’s tryiong none the less. I’ve been using Movable-type on several websites for about a year and am concerned about
    switching to another platform. I have heard good things about blogengine.net.
    Is there a way I can transfer all my wordpress posts into it?
    Any kind of help would be really appreciated!

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

