Fettucine Alfredo revisited

Ok, well lucky for me my decision to start cooking lighter foods with less dairy product wasn’t an actual resolution.  I’m also aware that in my short time of blogging I’ve already posted a recipe for fettucine/fettucini alfredo.  However, tonight my son’s dinner request was the good old thick variety of alfredo sauce as opposed to the lighter version that is mostly cream and parmesan cheese.  I really like this recipe and normally a little bit goes a long way.  It’s pretty heavy therefore small portions are typically fine.  In my case this isn’t true because a normal person’s serving is quite different than a 19 year old guy’s serving.  I used a pound of pasta for 3 people and have 1 smallish serving leftover.   I expected more than that, but it’s fine.  I find this recipe works best if you allow the ingredients to come to room temperature before putting them together.  Broccoli or peas make a good toss in.

Fettucini Alfredo with Ricotta

1 pound of fettucini cooked al dente

1 egg lightly beaten

8 oz half and half  (I use fat free)

1 small container of ricotta (low fat is fine)

1 cup parmesan cheese

1/2 stick of butter

pepper to taste

Directions

Bring the cheese and eggs to room temperature.

Cook the pasta until al dente

Wisk together the ricotta, egg and half and half, when creamy mix in the parmesan, add pepper to taste

When pasta is done cooking add back to the pot and toss in the butter until it’s melted and coating the pasta evenly

Cover with the ricotta mixture and toss until the sauce is heated from the pasta, the stove top should be turned off

Season with more pepper if needed, serve immediately

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

