Pasta with Peas

My New Year’s Eve gathering consisted of just myself, my husband and our 3 dogs.  Our dog Rocki is absolutely terrified of the loud noise brought on by fireworks during many holidays.  Thus we spent our evening watching movies and comforting her.  I decided to make a simple pasta dinner for myself that paired well with the ribeye steak I bought my husband as a rare treat.  With the new year I plan to cut down on my consumption of dairy and egg products so I decided on this occasion to make one last (doubtful) pasta dish in a cream sauce.  The traditional recipe calls for bacon which I easily substituted with sundried tomato’s that provide a rich meaty taste and texture which works beautifully.  I apologize for the photo, I thought to take one while cleaning up.  This was done quickly in between rounds of fireworks so I didn’t have the time to take a prettier photo.  However, this is a pretty and colorful dish!

Ingredients

1 small shell pasta

4 tablespoons butter

2 shallots finely chopped

1 c frozen or shelled fresh peas

1 cup broccoli spears in tiny pieces

¼ cup sundried tomato in oil chopped

1 pint heavy cream

1/2 cup grated Parmesan cheese plus extra for serving

Salt and pepper and red pepper flakes to taste

Preparation

Cook pasta until al dente.

Blanche the broccoli and peas in boiling water for 1-2 minutes and immediately rinse under cold water, drain well.

In a sauce pan melt the butter and saute the shallots until lightly transparent.

Add the remaining vegetables and continue cooking for 2-3 minutes.

Add in the heavy cream and warm through

Wisk in the cheese and seasoning and stir continually for several minutes (use more if desired)

Toss in the pasta and serve immediately
Top with extra cheese and pepper if desired

  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a Reply

